Joseph Martino is a certified paramedic, and has worked in the Emergency Department at Texas Health Denton for four years. He has been a paramedic for more than 10 years.

What did you want to be as a kid and how did you ultimately choose your career/job?

As a kid, I didn’t really know what I wanted to be when I grew up. I thought some jobs might be cool, like a being a pilot. Growing up, the medical field was not on my radar. After working for a company that made underwear, sleepwear, robes and bath towels, a friend suggested that I go to EMT basic school to see if I liked it. Sure enough, I really enjoyed the medical field and found it very interesting. I have been furthering my education in the medical field ever since.

What is a typical workday like?

Since we deal with all types of people and patients, I could not say there was a typical day. The day normally starts off the same for me though. I get into work and have a morning huddle followed by doing my morning "chores." I check some equipment and stock supplies. Once I am done with this, my main objective is to complete EKGs on anyone who needs one. Another big part of my daily routine is to assist in patient flow through our department by turning rooms over, assisting nurses with tasks, rooming patients, and anything else that assists with the flow. I also start IVs, draw blood and do sono IVs.

What is the biggest challenge of your work?

I had never worked with such a large organization before Texas Health and at first, it seemed like it took forever to change something or get something new implemented. After a while, I realized it took so long for good reason -- to ensure things are implemented properly. A large organization has a lot of moving parts and a small change can affect multiple departments. Now, I do not feel like I have any really big challenges at work, just the "normal" challenges I assume most people have while working in the Emergency Department (ED).

What do you like most about your job?

As a paramedic in the ED I really enjoy sono IVs. One of the things I like the most is how the culture here allows me to feel empowered to have my voice heard. If I have an idea that can make the department run smoother or more efficient or even a better way to organize something, I know that my colleagues and managers will listen. I truly feel that I have the ability and power to make this hospital and department a better place. I really like that feeling.

What do you do when you're not at work?

When I am not at work, I am either doing school work, working around the house, or hanging out with my wife and our four boys. This pretty much takes up all of my time and I enjoy seeing my boys growing up and learning new things.

What’s one thing most people might not know about you?

Most people probably don’t know I have been married for over 10 years. My wife and I have four children (all boys) under 10 years of age. My wife does a wonderful job and there is much love in our household. I am also finishing up prerequisites for nursing school. Another thing people might not know about me is that I grew up in Denton with my seven siblings and parents. Growing up, I lived next to my dad’s four brothers, his parents, and all of my cousins. It was really fun because your family was your best friend.

 

  ‚Äč

-Employment opportunities are only reflective of wholly owned Texas Health Resources entities.

We are an Equal Opportunity Employer and do not discriminate against any employees or applicant for employment because of race, color, sex, age, national origin, religion, sexual orientation, gender identity, status as a veteran, and basis of disability or any other federal, state or local protected class. LEARN MORE

Powered by SmashFly